Our volunteers

Message from Susan Macaldowie, PetSavers Management Committee Chair


"Thank you for taking the time to learn more about our charity. PetSavers has been fundraising and allocating grants to help with research into small animal (pet) diseases for over 40 years.  We operate in the rapidly evolving field of small animal medical and surgical advances, but many projects have relevance to large numbers of pets, who may be affected by disease or benefit from improvements in preventative care.

A big part of our work is fundraising, to allow us to continue providing the money. Volunteers run our committees to coordinate this and scritunise the grant applications we receive, supported by a few dedicated staff members within the British Small Animal Veterinary Association offices. In addition, we depend on vets, nurses, practices and owners around the country getting involved in events and collections on our behalf. Awareness of the charity amongst pet owners, breeders and the veterinary profession is key, as all help to inform research needs, seeing the incidence and changing trends in our pet population."



The Grants Awarding Committee

The Grants Awarding Committee comprises a team of veterinary academics and practitioners who all specialise in the field of companion animal diseases. They assist in awarding grants to scientists in universities, practices and research organisations following a rigorous selection process.

  • Julian Hoad –  Chair
  • Professor Susan Dawson – BSAVA President 
  • Ronan Doyle – Grants Awarding Committee Secretary
  • Susan Macaldowie – PetSavers Management Committee Chair
  • Alexander Campbell
  • Helen Jenkins
  • Gina Pinchbeck
  • Daniel Holden
  • Sally Everitt – BSAVA Head of Scientific Policy
  • Liz Barnwell - BSAVA Marketing Manager
  • Jane Cordier - PetSavers Coordinator


The Management Committee

The Management Committee meets three times a year and is made up of veterinary surgeons and nurses who are responsible for the everyday running and organisation of the charity. The PetSavers Management Committee oversees expenditure by the charity in addition to planning how to raise income through various events and fundraising initiatives. 

  • Susan Macaldowie – Chair
  • Julian Hoad – Grants Awarding Committee Chair
  • Alison Livesey
  • Andrew Beer
  • Frederic Lohr
  • James Warland
  • Rachel Lockhart
  • Karen Humm
  • Laura Pugh
  • Jan Stephenson
  • Sheldon Middleton
  • Paula Bailey
  • Michelle Northrup-Walker
  • Liz Barnwell – BSAVA Marketing Manager
  • Jane Cordier - PetSavers Coordinator

Become a volunteer

If you are already a BSAVA member, you can help PetSavers in a variety of ways by becoming a volunteer. Please contact Carole Haile on c.haile@bsava.com to find out more about becoming a volunteer.

If you are a veterinary professional and are not a BSAVA member, you can find out more about becoming a BSAVA member here

Registered Company No. 02837793. A Company Limited by Guarantee in England. Registered as a Charity No. 1024811.